Sweet September

summer door

Good morning everyone!! Today I woke late after a late night, and felt the heaviness in my head, sunk deep into the pillow. I am a complete light-weight, one glass of champagne can sink me! However a large glass of water later, I was soon on the road to recovery, and memories of the previous evening’s dinner with an old friend soon put a smile on my face again. I stretched my whole length, still relishing the fact that I can push my toes into the cool brass of the bedstead, now that I am home in London, and rolled over to check my phone, finding a message from dear RO about our plans for a walk in the country and afternoon tea at a stately home. So I swung my legs out of bed and got up to draw the blind, finding a beautiful blue sky filled with cotton wool clouds and a definite autumnal hue after yesterday’s rain. Ah bittersweet September; I love the low sunlight, warmer seas, gentle breeze, and those lingering carefree afternoons, but it seems Summer’s end always arrives too soon.

However, I smile as I remember all endings are just beginnings in disguise. So whilst the end of warm sunny afternoons, flip flops, and breakfast on the balcony, make way for cosy cashmere sweaters, kicking the crisp burnt leaves and snuggling up by the fire, that the air is thick with possibility too. And then I (almost) wish I was going back to school, with a collection of freshly sharpened pencils, an exciting reading list, fresh new gym kit, and pocket full of good intentions, and I realise September has always been my favourite month, not just because of the fading summer afternoons, but the promise of a new chapter, the next leg of the journey, and maybe a doorway to pass through too!

I hope your weekend is wonderful, and that wherever you are, that September is filled with hope and beautiful beginnings too Blessings & love, Hxx

{Photo sadly uncredited, via Pinterest. Words by me. ~Hayley Darby ©2013}

Leave a Reply

