17th December 2012

xmas decs

Good morning everyone! Today I woke late after a busy birthday weekend, drifting into Monday morning, slowly as wakefulness claimed me. I lay a while, enjoying a few moments to snuggle in that place in between, before stretching to greet the day with enthusiasm. It’s another gorgeous sunny start in London, with blue skies stretching as far as the eye can see, whilst the sunlight falls in shafts through the windows, illuminating the ordinary and making it beautiful. I snuggled up in the sunny spot on the sofa with my soy latte, quietly contemplating the day and my week ahead.

Being a December baby, and having the privilege of sharing my birthday with my Dad, we have an unwritten rule that Christmas plans and decorations can start once our birthday has been appreciated, to stop it becoming encompassed in the general festivities. As a child it meant I still felt my birthday was a special day for us, and as an adult it’s a good way to keep Christmas limited to a few precious weeks, rather than drag on and dilute its magic. So today at the top of my list is unearthing the Christmas decorations, and maybe a little Christmas shopping, and even possibly writing the stack of Christmas cards that sit waiting on my desk, as I get into the festive spirit.

Meanwhile it’s such a lovely day, the air is cool and crisp, with barely a breeze to stir the trees, and the sky is that delicious blue that I just want to fall in to! So I’m taking a walk up the hill into the village, to breathe in the season and appreciate the little things, I’m going to stop and admire the wreaths and decorations along the way, looking for mistletoe at the flower stall, and maybe enjoy a gingerbread reindeer at my favourite café. I hope that your Monday is beautiful too, and that you have time amongst the festive preparations to appreciate it the things that make it special for you ♥ Blessings & love, Hxx

One thought on “17th December 2012

  1. Like you, your Dad and Sister (?), also having a December birthday, five days before Christmas, I can relate to this …
    ” … we have an unwritten rule that Christmas plans and decorations can start once our birthday has been appreciated, to stop it becoming encompassed in the general festivities. As a child it meant I still felt my birthday was a special day for us, and as an adult it’s a good way to keep Christmas limited to a few precious weeks, rather than drag on and dilute its magic.”

Leave a Reply

