15th December 2012

pink champers

Good morning everyone! Today I woke late, drifting in and out of consciousness as I flitted between here and there, lost in the reassuring darkness of a dream and tempted by the sunshine straining at the curtains. The telephone eventually called me to wakefulness, birthday greetings from my parents and since I share my birthday with my Dad, an opportunity to return them. After the call, I unwound myself from the duvet to throw back the curtains and admire the blue skies, which today feel like a personal blessing, before wrapping up in my robe and heading downstairs in search of coffee.

My brother called from Tokyo, and as we chatted about his evening there and my morning in London, I watched white fluffy clouds traverse the blueness, and shadows stretch from the bare branches across the red brick building opposite. Then I sat for a while contemplating the clouds in my coffee, as the sunlight streamed through the window and bounced along the tops of the cushions on the sofa. It’s a beautiful birthday morning and I’m especially grateful for the cheerful climate after yesterdays rain and grey-ness. My sister called and we chatted for a while about what we’re doing and where we’re going; we’re quite different characters, but in some aspects unmistakably related. One thing we agree on, (since she also has a December birthday and Christmas looms ever closer), is that have enough ‘stuff’, and that as we get older it’s the gifts that we can’t unwrap that matter most; peace, love, joy and happiness, and the friends and family we share them with.

So as I sit with a stack of cheerful looking post, not to mention the abundance of FB messages, I’m feeling the birthday love and I’m very, very thankful. I have a relaxing day planned with lunch in ‘the village’ and a small dinner party with close friends and a few glasses of champagne this evening; I hope you have a beautiful day, filled with gifts of happiness too; with much love and blessings! ♥ Hxx

One thought on “15th December 2012

  1. Ms Hayley, this is so true and a great lesson too … ” … as we get older it’s the gifts that we can’t unwrap that matter most; peace, love, joy and happiness, and the friends and family we share them with.” More than things, as we grow older, we just need each other, the genuine love … given and received.

Leave a Reply

