Cosy morning

socks

Good morning everyone! Happy Monday : )) I’m having one of those calm, cosy mornings at home, staying warm and feeling snug, curled up on the sofa with my latte and laptop. After a busy weekend with family and friends, I’m appreciating the peaceful solitude, wrapped up in my thoughts and comforting cashmere, reflecting on the season. My home is quiet, with only the ticking clock and the birds in the trees to disturb the silence, as I contemplate who I am and where I’ve been. I feel as if I’ve taken a moment to step out of my thoughts to observe them, a kind of ‘time out’ to assess my situation, checking my plans align with my dreams, and searching for direction.

Winters are hardly my favourite season, when the heady carefree days of summer seem merely a memory and a distant opportunity somewhere in the future. The dark days and cold nights can feel restrictive and unsociable, as we rush between destinations to stay out of the cold, wrapping up in layers to protect our health, as we struggle to juggle the mean climate with festivities. However, there is something sublime about relaxing in the warm glow of home, visible to the cold world outside through glittering windows, as candles flicker smugly in the warmth.

Despite my attempts to fight it off, a head cold has finally taken hold, nothing major just the sniffles and a red nose; but it’s a good reminder to take things easy and savour the privileges of winter: cooking hearty dishes that fill the house with comforting aromas, padding about in snuggly socks, and curling up with a good book on the sofa. I find the winter is far more bearable when I recognise and accept the changes in behaviour that the season imposes, and embrace the comforts of home, being quiet and relaxing. I might even start thinking about Christmas shopping (online), cashmere socks maybe?!

Wishing you a wonderful week, and hope that you keep warm and well if you’re also in a wintry part of the world! Blessings & love, Hxx

{Photo sadly uncredited, via Pinterest}

2 thoughts on “Cosy morning

  1. Here in Belgium it sure is Winter as well. Snow sometimes, cold, freezing cold. Ice on the street. And yes, coming home does feel nicer. Cosier. I love to stay in my bed, just studying under my warm blanket, dreaming of gifts and being with friends :3 x

  2. I love snow! I love when it squeaks under my feet! I love to bundle up in the cold and definitely love my hats, mitts, and scarves! A huge fan of winter! Having said that, I don’t have to shovel the snow. Giggles!

Leave a Reply

