Good Morning

cashmere

Good morning everyone! Today I woke early, too early (5ish) but failed to find the way back dreamland as I lay waiting for thoughts to disappear and leave me peacefully rested. It feels like I’m fighting off a cold, so I got up for some meds and a hot lemon drink, noticing the lights of my neighbours’ homes in the morning darkness (around 6am), before snuggling back under the duvet to wait for sunrise, grateful that my mornings are mine. Sleep it seems had abandoned me for the day, so I read for a while and ran a hot bath with oils of eucalyptus, thyme and rosemary to clear my stuffy head, and steeped myself in the steamy water to soak into wakefulness properly. As I lay with my feet propped up on the taps, I smiled at the red nail polish as I noticed an emotion for which I’m grateful; a feeling of faith and belief in my dreams, despite their ridiculous nature. And as I lay wondering why, where, how and when, I became aware of the gift of possibility and the freedom to dream, lifting my spirits and hoping.

Feeling perfectly pink and refreshed after my bath, I made a latte and prepared for the day ahead, finishing off some laundry and tidying before getting ready for work. It’s a dull day in London, grey skies obscuring the sun, and chilly. The few remaining leaves on the trees outside my window flutter insistently, and the birds are visible on the branches as they chirp at each other. As I devoured my breakfast (frittata followed by porridge with banana, Greek yoghurt & almonds), feeling of gratitude persisted, and my freedom of choice to make of the day what I want from it. I reflected on the choices I’ve previously made, the good and the not-so-clever, and appreciated that they were my decisions; every response to every thing I’ve lived through was entirely mine. I could choose to be angry or accept disappointments gracefully, I could pursue or abandon courses I started, and I am responsible for my input in relationships, regardless of others. During these thoughts Viktor Frankl came to mind, an admired psychologist and holocaust survivor who founded logotherapy, regarding life’s meaning as a driving force. His experiences in a Nazi concentration camp led him to the conclusion that “Everything can be taken from a man but one thing: the last of the human freedoms—to choose one’s attitude in any given set of circumstances, to choose one’s own way” (~Viktor E. Frankl, Man’s Search for Meaning) So I am deciding today to focus on an attitude responding of my choosing rather than a reaction.

The thoughts of Viktor Frankl, and his remarkable place in history then turned to the present and a TED talk I recently watched by Lisa Kristine. Lisa’s photographs that bear witness to modern slavery, are both beautiful and haunting; I found myself dwelling on her images of some of the millions enslaved around the world today, despite it’s abolition in 1833. Sometimes we take so much for granted, especially the little BIG things like Freedom, and really we are so privileged to experience such a short-coming. So today as I comfortably recline on my awesome sofa, watching the day unfold through the window, I am reflecting on gratitude for the freedom to be me, for the freedom of speech, for living in a country that supports equality, for the freedom to choose my path, and whether or not it makes a difference.. and that of course takes me back to Viktor Frankl’s works on ‘Mans search for meaning’, surely it’s helping others in the best way we can?! Wishing you a beautiful day, and some wonderful meaning in your life to be grateful for ♥ Blessings & love, Hxx

{Photo sadly uncredited, via Pinterest. Lisa’s TED talk: http://www.ted.com/talks/lisa_kristine_glimpses_of_modern_day_slavery.html}

One thought on “Good Morning

Leave a Reply

