Good Morning

Good morning/afternoon everyone! It’s another cold, grey day in London, and I struggled out of bed in the half-light that seems to persist as the clouds obscure the sun. I snuggled up in a comforting sweater on the sofa with my latte, responding to emails and became absorbed in some research as the candles flickered cheerfully, holding the gloominess of the climate at bay and making it cosy inside.

The dustmen (refuse collection team) called round, with their familiar brand of cheerful banter, I don’t know about your neighborhood, but mine are always laughing and joking. It’s as if they have found a coping mechanism to get up early everyday, and clear other peoples rubbish in all sorts of weather. It makes me wonder about the different types of stress we find as part and parcel of the careers and lifestyles we choose. Many of my patients are executives in the financial district, and I am often left wondering whether their jobs in such a competitive environment are worth the feelings of frustration and insecurity, and the lack of life balance due to the long hours they put in. At least the dustmen don’t seem to struggle with such internal politics or feel under constant threat of redundancy, and I’m pretty sure they usually stick to their time schedule. Of course it’s not what we do, it’s how we approach it; it’s not what happens, but how we handle it that really counts. Yet it does make me wonder whether the most successful people (if success is a measure of happiness) aren’t always those we would guess, but rather those that have chosen a life with time to enjoy it.

As my day races away, I’m aware I still have rather a lot of desk-work to catch up on; but it will have to wait, as I’m listening to that part of me that wants to walk in the wind, as the leaves chase along the pavement, and that doesn’t mind the rain when I’m dressed appropriately. So I am taking a break to walk to the gym, for a run and some thinking time on the treadmill; the desk-work won’t run away, and I believe making time for exercise is more important than constantly chasing deadlines (says the voice of experience). Sometimes we focus too much on the urgent and miss the important, so I’m grateful for the opportunity and the reminder, inspired by my cheerful dustmen.

I hope that you have a beautiful day, doing whatever it is you do; and that by being grateful for the little things, the stresses of life feel more manageable! Blessings & love, Hxx

7 thoughts on “Good Morning

  1. a perfect post for my day since every tuesday I get up at 5.30 a.m, then have school from 8.45 a.m. till 3.45 in the afternoon, am home around … 5.45 in the evening and then work till around midnight :/ so it’s a loooong day for me, because if not, I wouldn’t make my deadlines (and since I’m in the commercial studies, deadlines are hell!) But as I just took a moment to read through the blogposts of today, I realized that my work can wait a little longer, and instead, I’ll go downstairs and prepare my chinese food and enjoy a nice meal with my younger brother and sister. Thank you Hayley, for once again, making my day, and inspiring me! x

    • ahhh so glad you made time for your precious self too darling, school is important, but your health and relationships should never be neglected. Thank you for your lovely message and kind words, I really appreciate you. Love & gratitude, Hxx

      • You inspired me to do so 🙂 all your posts with your morning rituals, made me think “hey, why don’t I do something similar? instead of rushing everyday! :D” so Thank YOU, for writing such inspiring posts. They truly are life changing. x

Leave a Reply

