Waves

Sit in reverie, and watch the changing color of the waves that break upon the idle seashore of the mind. ~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

I believe that sometimes we need to make space to feel our emotions, the good and the bad, the beautiful and the sad, the joy and the disappointment. If I pay attention to my internal geography, it somehow seems to help orientate my life; where I am, what I wish for, the path I’m on, and those I have travelled. Of course it’s tempting to gloss over the yucky bits, or try to rush through them, but then we may easily miss the opportunities to learn from our journey. Better to let the waves wash over us, and let go of expectations, let life shape us and carry us to happier places, with waves we can play in. Hxx

{Hayley Darby 24.March.2012}

Leave a Reply

